African History through the lens of Economics

An initiative by the Wheeler Institute
for Business and Development

Map colonial Africa.jpg

Course 0verview

This course covers recent contributions in economic history that, using geospatial data from anthropological maps, colonial archives and secondary sources, will explore current economic and development challenges by drawing parallels between the past and present. 

10 main lectures + 10 special lectures + 3 plenary sessions covering major aspects of African history every Tuesday and Wednesday from 10am ET / 3pm GMT / 4 pm WAT for 10 weeks starting on 1st February. Main Teaching Faculty include: Elias Papaioannou (London Business School)Leonard Wantchekon (Princeton University)Stelios Michalopoulos (Brown University), and Nathan Nunn (Harvard University.

About the course

Lecturers

Meet the teaching faculty and guest speakers

Blogs

Read a series of blogs summarizing the lectures

Course Materials

Access the course materials and lecture recordings

Infographics for website (3).png
tim-johnson-g8t03pBlYCs-unsplash_edited.jpg

Open access

Our partners

STEG-Logo-RGB-Stacked-colour cropped.png
CEPR-logo-solid-blue-RGB.png
LOGO_ERC.png
 

All opinions expressed in this course by the speakers do not reflect the opinions of the Wheeler Institute for Business and Development, London Business School or affiliates or the institutions with which the speakers are affiliated, and may have been previously disseminated by them.  Should you have any questions or concerns about the subjects, opinions or information expressed in this session, please contact us at wheelercourses@london.edu.